That unassuming bowl of Udon

I was hoping it would be a wet chilly rainy day before walking into the restaurant so I could magnify my enjoyment of this humble but reassuringly warm and steaming bowl of goodness.
Instead, the day itself was warm and soupy but I resolved to stay calm and carry on.
Because now nothing can override a brewing thought of mine to pamper myself with this wholesome bowl in order to achieve a quasi-zen like state of mind.  A welcome respite I thought it would be from all the pandemic related stresses.
With just one initial spoonful, I was there!
It gave and gave with generous amounts of perfectly cooked mushrooms and shrimps, and noodles with just a right balance of chew and silk.
Snowballing the effect,  there were mysterious plant leaves floating in the broth that elevated the whole taste spectrum with its woodsy umami flavor.
I kept at it in trance until I could see the bottom of the bowl with indigo blue wavy line design.
Then I tipped the bowl to get the last spoonful of the broth.. and quietly put the spoon down.

Published by

konorama

Favorite travel destinations: National Parks, Mexico, Caribbean and South America. Recent books: M train by Patti Smith My struggle by Karl Ove Music: Jazz and classical Food: anything fresh and made with love and passion

Leave a comment